Virginia Juvenile Defenders

Court-Appointed Attorneys

For a list of certified juvenile Court Appointed Attorneys in Virginia, click here.

Public Defender Offices

Alexandria
132 N. Royal Street, Ste. 200 Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 746-4477 Phone
(703) 838-6483 Fax
Melinda Douglas, Public Defender
Mdouglas@alexandriava.gov

Arlington
2300 Clarendon Blvd., Ste. 201 Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 875-1111 Phone
(703) 875-0174 Fax
Matthew Foley, Public Defender
mfoley@arl.idc.virginia.gov

Bedford
202 North Bridge Street
Bedford, VA 24523
(540) 586-7977 Phone
(540) 586-7990 Fax
Webster Hogeland, Public Defender
whogeland@bed.idc.virginia.gov

Charlottesville
409 Third Street, NE Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 951-6300 Phone
(434) 951-6444 Fax
James Hingeley, Public Defender
jhingeley@cha.idc.virginia.gov

Chesapeake
524 Albemarle Drive, Ste. 1 Chesapeake, VA 23322
(757) 382-0098 Phone
(757) 382-0096 Fax
Kathleen Ortiz, Public Defender
kortiz@che.idc.virginia.gov

Danville
326 Masonic Building
105 South Union Street Danville, VA 24541
(434) 791-5306 Phone
(434) 791-5311 Fax
Joseph Schenk, Public Defender
jschenk@dan.idc.virginia.gov

Fairfax
4103 Chain Bridge Road, Ste. 500 Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-5600 Phone
(703) 934-5160 Fax
Todd Petit, Public Defender
tpetit@fai.idc.virginia.gov

Franklin
223 N. Main Street
Franklin, VA 23851
(757) 562-0665 Phone
(757) 562-7689 Fax
Peter Economou, Public Defender
peconomou@fra.idc.virginia.gov

Fredericksburg
2300 Fall Hill Avenue, Ste. 300 Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (540) 899-4814 Phone
(540) 372-3599 Fax
Allen Bareford, Public Defender
abareford@fre.idc.virginia

Halifax
120 Edmunds Boulevard Halifax, VA 24558
(434) 476-4139 Phone
(434) 476-4140 Fax
Buddy Ward, Public Defender
bward@hal.idc.virginia.gov

Hampton
12 West Queens Way Hampton, VA 23669
(757) 727-4744 Phone
(757) 727-4743 Fax
Tom Watkins, Public Defender
twatkins@ham.idc.virginia.gov

Leesburg
3 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 771-2507 Phone
(703) 771-2517 Fax
Lorie O’Donnell, Public Defender
lodonnell@lee.idc.virginia.gov

Lynchburg
Allied Arts Building
725 Church Street, 8th Floor Lynchburg, VA 24504
(434) 947-2244 Phone
(434) 947-2386 Fax
Sharon Eimer, Public Defender
seimer@adm.idc.virginia.gov

Martinsville
10 East Main Street (24112) PO Drawer 31
Martinsville, VA 24114
(276) 666-2206 Phone
(276) 666-8929 Fax
Sandra Haley, Public Defender
shaley@mar.idc.virginia.gov

Newport News
2600 Washington Avenue, Ste. 105 Newport News, VA 23607
(757) 247-2034 Phone
(757) 247-2065 Fax
(757) 247-8005 Admin Fax Edward Webb, Public Defender
ewebb@new.idc.virginia.gov

Norfolk
125 St. Paul’s Boulevard, Ste. 600 Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 314-2380 Phone
(757) 314-2382 Fax
Sherri Car, Public Defender
scar@nor.idc.virginia.gov

Petersburg
105 Marshall Street, 2nd Floor Petersburg, VA 23803
(804) 862-6286 Phone
(804) 862-6187 Fax
John Cobb, Public Defender
jcobb@pet.idc.virginia.gov

Portsmouth
One Guardian Court
POB 460
Portsmouth, VA 23705
(757) 396-6840 Phone
(757) 396-6988 Fax
Brenda Spry, Public Defender
bspry@por.idc.virginia.gov

Pulaski
58 N. Washington Avenue, Ste. 200 Pulaski, VA 24301
(540) 994-5008 Phone
(540) 994-5020 Fax
Cynthia Dodge, Public Defender
cdodge@pul.idc.virginia.gov

Richmond
701 E. Franklin Street, Ste. 600 Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 225-4330 Phone
(804) 371-4908 Fax
Susan Hansen, Public Defender
shansen@ric.idc.virginia.gov

Roanoke
210 First Street, SW, Ste. 420 Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 857-7111 Phone
(540) 857-7096 Fax
John Varney, Public Defender
jvarney@roa.idc.virginia.gov

Staunton
20 Byers Street
Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 332-7845 Phone
(540) 332-7847 Fax
Peter Boatner, Public Defender
pboatner@sta.idc.virginia.gov

Suffolk
707 Gittings Street, Ste. 100 Suffolk, VA 23434
(757) 925-2489 Phone
(757) 925-2492 Fax
James Grandfield, Public Defender
jgrandfield@suf.idc.virginia.gov

Virginia Beach
2425 George Mason Drive POB 6160
Virginia Beach, VA 23456 (757) 427-6150 Phone
(757) 427-6151 Fax
Peter Legler, Virginia Beach
plegler@vir.idc.virginia.gov

Warrenton
16 Horner Street
Warrenton, VA 20186
(540) 347-6390 Phone
(540) 347-6391 Fax
Lorie O’Donnell, Public Defender
lodonnell@war.idc.virginia.gov

Winchester
117 East Piccadilly Street, Ste. 300 Winchester, VA 22601
(540) 722-3540 Phone
(540) 722-7555 Fax
Timothy Coyne, Public Defender
tcoyne@win.idc.virginia.gov