Regional Centers

NJDC collaborates with nine Regional Juvenile Defender Centers. Each Center coordinates activities in the states within its region and keeps NJDC connected to the front lines of juvenile defense, whether they are in an urban, suburban, rural, or tribal setting. The activities each Center undertakes include helping to compile and analyze juvenile indigent defense data, facilitating organizing and networking opportunities for juvenile defenders, offering targeted state-based training and technical assistance, and providing case support specifically designed for complex or high profile cases.

Each Regional Center has its own website focusing on issues relevant to the states of that region. While the NJDC website acts as a clearinghouse for juvenile defense information nationwide and pulls from sources in each state, for more discrete issues or targeted state-based work, or to become part of the regional network of defenders, check out the Regional Centers’ websites. To join the email listserv for your region, please sign up on the listserv page of the NJDC website.

USA

Central Juvenile Defender Center

Arkansas, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Ohio, and Tennessee

Amanda Mullins Bear
Children’s Law Center
215 West Short St., Suite 205
Lexington, KY 40507
(859) 253-3353
abear@childrenslawky.org

Christina Kleiser
Knox County Public Defender’s
Community Law Office
1101 Liberty Street
Knoxville, TN 37919-2328
(865) 215-6473
ckleiser@pdknox.org


Mid-Atlantic Juvenile Defender Center

District of Columbia, Maryland, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia

Kristin Henning
Georgetown University Law Center
Juvenile Justice Initiative
111 F Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 662-9592
hennink@law.georgetown.edu

Debbie St. Jean
Office of the Maryland Public Defender
Juvenile Protection Division
201 East Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 209-8684
Dst.jean@opd.state.md.us


Midwest Juvenile Defender Center

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

Kristen Staley
Michigan Indigent Defense Commission
200 N. Washington Sq.
Lansing, MI 48913
(517) 582-2427
staleyk@michigan.gov

Diane Rondini
Wisconsin State Public Defender
17 S. Fairchild St., 2nd Fl.
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 261-5417
rondinid@opd.wi.gov


New England Juvenile Defender Center 

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Pamela Jones
New Hampshire Public Defender
44 Franklin St.
Nashua, NH 03064
(339) 368-1220
pjones@nhpd.org

Wendy Wolf
Youth Advocacy Division
Committee for Public Counsel Services
44 Bromfield Street
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 988-8451
wwolf@publiccounsel.net


Northeast Juvenile Defender Center

Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania

Lisa Minutola
Delaware Office of Defense Services
820 North French Street, 3rd Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 577-5118
lisa.minutola@delaware.gov

Kristina Kersey
New Jersey Office of the Public Defender
31 Clinton Street, 4th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 648-3470
kristina.kersey@opd.nj.gov


Pacific Juvenile Defender Center

California

Patricia Lee
San Francisco Public Defender
200 Pine Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 753-7610
Patricialeesfdefender@yahoo. com


Southern Juvenile Defender Center

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, and South Carolina

Richard Pittman
Juvenile Defender Services
Louisiana Public Defender Board
301 Main St. Ste. 700
Baton Rouge, LA 70825
(225) 219-9305 Ext. 215
rpittman@lpdb.la.gov

Randee Waldman
Juvenile Defender Clinic
Emory Law School
1301 Clifton Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-6235
rwaldm2@emory.edu


Southwest Juvenile Defender Center

Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah

Cindy Aragon
New Mexico Legal Aid Native American Program
PO Box 817
Bernalillo, NM 87004
(505) 350-5650
cindya@nmlegalaid.org

Christina Phillis
Maricopa County Office of Public Defense Services
620 W. Jackson, Suite 3076
Phoenix, AZ 85003
(602) 506-1977
phillisc@mail.maricopa.gov

Pamela Vickrey
Utah Juvenile Defender Attorneys
8 East Broadway, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
(602) 506-1977
pvickrey@ujda.org


Western Juvenile Defender Center

Alaska, American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming

Susan Roske
Henderson, NV 89074
wjdc.nv@gmail.com

Jennifer Fraser
Clark County Public Defender
601 N. Pecos Rd., South Building #49
Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 455-0811
fraserja@clarkcountynv.gov


 

Territory Not Associated with a Regional Center

The Northern Mariana Islands

NJDC is working to develop stronger ties to the defender community in this territory. Contact NJDC directly at 202-452-0010 or inquiries@njdc.info  for more on our efforts in this area.