Regional Centers

NJDC collaborates with nine Regional Juvenile Defender Centers. Each Center coordinates activities in the states within its region and keeps NJDC connected to the front lines of juvenile defense, whether they are in an urban, suburban, rural, or tribal setting. The activities each Center undertakes include helping to compile and analyze juvenile indigent defense data, facilitating organizing and networking opportunities for juvenile defenders, offering targeted state-based training and technical assistance, and providing case support specifically designed for complex or high profile cases.

Each Regional Center has its own website focusing on issues relevant to the states of that region. While the NJDC website acts as a clearinghouse for juvenile defense information nationwide and pulls from sources in each state, for more discrete issues or targeted state-based work, or to become part of the regional network of defenders, check out the Regional Centers’ websites. To join the email listserv for your region, please sign up on the listserv page of the NJDC website.

USA

 

Central Juvenile Defender Center

Arkansas, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Ohio, and Tennessee

Amanda Mullins Bear
Children’s Law Center
215 West Short St., Suite 205
Lexington, Ky 40507
(859) 253-3353
abear@childrenslawky.org

Christina Kleiser
Knox County Public Defender’s
Community Law Office
1101 Liberty Street
Knoxville, TN 37919-2328
(865) 215-6473
ckleiser@pdknox.org


Mid-Atlantic Juvenile Defender Center

District of Columbia, Maryland, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia

Kristin Henning
Juvenile Justice Clinic
Georgetown University Law Center
111 F Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 662-9592
hennink@law.georgetown.edu

Debbie St. Jean
Office of the Maryland Public Defender
Juvenile Protection Division
201 East Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 209-8684
Dst.jean@opd.state.md.us


Midwest Juvenile Defender Center

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

Betsy Clarke
Illinois Juvenile Justice Initiative
PO Box 1833
Evanston, IL 60204
(847) 894-4206
bcjuv@aol.com

Diane Rondini
Wisconsin State Public Defender
17 S. Fairchild St., 2nd Fl.
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 261-5417
rondinid@opd.wi.gov


New England Juvenile Defender Center 

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Pamela Jones
New Hampshire Public Defender
44 Franklin St.
Nashua, NH 03064
(339) 368-1220
pjones@nhpd.org

Wendy Wolf
Youth Advocacy Division
Committee for Public Counsel Services
44 Bromfield Street
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 988-8451
wwolf@publiccounsel.net


Northeast Juvenile Defender Center

Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania

Lisa Minutola
Office of Defense Services
Wilmington, DE
(302) 577-5118
lisa.minutola@state.de.us

Tiffany Sizemore
Duquesne University School of Law
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
(412) 396-5694
sizemoret@duq.edu


Pacific Juvenile Defender Center

California

Patricia Lee
San Francisco Public Defender
200 Pine Street, Suite 300
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 753-7610
Patricialeesfdefender@yahoo. com


Southern Juvenile Defender Center

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, and South Carolina

Whitney Untiedt
Director of Pro Bono Initiatives
Akerman LLP
One Southeast Third Avenue, 25th Floor
Miami, FL 33131
(305) 982-5636
whitney.untiedt@akerman.com

Randee Waldman
Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Juvenile Defender Clinic
Emory Law School
1301 Clifton Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-6235
rwaldm2@emory.edu


Southwest Juvenile Defender Center

Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah

Ellen Marrus
University of Houston Law Center
100 Law Center
Houston, TX 77204-6049
(713) 743-0894
emarrus@uh.edu

Christina Phillis
Maricopa County Office of Public Defense Services
620 W. Jackson, Suite 3076
Phoenix, AZ 85003
(602) 506-1977
phillisc@mail.maricopa.gov


Western Juvenile Defender Center

Alaska, American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming

Susan Roske
Clark County Public Defender Office
601 North Pecos Road
Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 361-0229
roskesd@co.clark.nv.us

George Yeannakis
TeamChild
1225 S Weller #420
Seattle, WA 98122
(206) 694-3728
george.yeannakis@teamchild.org


Territory Not Associated with a Regional Center

The Northern Mariana Islands

NJDC is working to develop stronger ties to the defender community in this territory. Contact NJDC directly at 202-452-0010 or inquiries@njdc.info  for more on our efforts in this area.